5019 W Airport Drive
Kincheloe, MI 49788
Phone: 906-495-5631
Email: admin@chippewacountyedc.com

About the EDC

Kincheloe Air Force base PilotThe Chippewa County Economic Development Corporation was created in March of 1977 after the closure of the former Kincheloe Air Force base. The CCEDC helps to retain and create jobs, assist with the stabilization and diversification of the County’s economic base, and promote investment and trade opportunities for business and the citizens of Chippewa County.

In April of 1987, the CCEDC assumed responsibility for managing the Chippewa County International Airport, one of only 12 commercial service airports in the state. Delta Airlines provides thirteen non-stop jet flights to Detroit and Minneapolis each week.

Chippewa County Air/Industrial Park provides a range of opportunities for public and private sector users and contains hundreds of employees located in the park. The CCEDC maintains 23 buildings, more than 5 miles of streets, more than 50 vehicles and pieces of maintenance equipment, 2.5 miles of railroad connecting with the Canadian National rail service, and about 500 acres of land.

Corporate Mission Statement

Chippewa County Economic Development Corporation’s mission is to encourage economic growth through strengthening the county’s competitive position and facilitating investments that build capacity, create jobs, generate economic opportunity and improve quality of life.


We are also proud to host a modern commercial terminal where we offer:

  • General aviation services
  • Hanger rental
  • Fueling services 

Our offices are located in the General Aviation Terminal at the airport.

5019  W Airport Drive
Kincheloe, MI 49788

Board of Directors

The Chippewa County EDC is overseen by a Board of Directors, made up of businesspeople and private individuals, where decisions regarding the operation and direction of the EDC are made. The current board members are:

  • Chris Olson, President
  • Don McLean, Chairman
  • Richard Brawley, Vice Chairman
  • Richard Timmer, Treasurer
  • Daniel Dasho, Secretary
  • James Quinnell
  • Jack Frost
  • Jeff Hagan
  • James Moore
  • Gary McDowell

Chippewa County Economic Development Corporation logo